FG shuts 18 foreign university campuses over fake degree

FG closes 18 foreign university campuses because of fake diploma

The Federal Government has banned 18 foreign universities operating in Nigeria while warning Nigerians to avoid enrolling in such institutions.

The Federal Ministry of Education referred to the banned universities – five universities in the United States, six in the United Kingdom and three tertiary institutions in Ghana – as “diploma factories”.

This comes after the Ministry announced the temporary suspension of the assessment and accreditation of degree certificates from the Republic of Benin and Togo (read here).

When announcing the ban in a statement published on its website, the National Universities Commission explained that the Federal Government did not license the affected universities and they were closed.

It stated: “The National Universities Commission wishes to announce to the general public, especially parents and prospective undergraduate students, that the under-listed 'degree mills' have not been licensed by the Federal Government and have therefore been closed for violating the National Education Law. Minimum Standards, etc.) Nigeria Federation Act, 2004.”

The affected schools are the University of Applied Sciences and Management, Port Novo, Republic of Benin, or any of its other campuses in Nigeria; Volta University College, Ho, Volta Region, Ghana or any other campus in Nigeria; the International University Study Centers, Missouri, USA, Kano and Lagos, or any of their campuses in Nigeria and Collumbus University, UK, operating anywhere in Nigeria.

The list also included Tiu International University, United Kingdom; Pebbles University, United Kingdom, operating anywhere in Nigeria; London External Studies UK operating anywhere in Nigeria; Pilgrims University operating anywhere in Nigeria; West African Christian University operating anywhere in Nigeria; EC-Council University, USA, Ikeja, Lagos Study Center and Concept College/Universities (London) Ilorin or any of its campuses in Nigeria.

Others are the campuses of Houdegbe North American University in Nigeria; Irish University Business School London, operating anywhere in Nigeria; University of Education, Winneba Ghana, operating anywhere in Nigeria; Cape Coast University, Ghana, operating anywhere in Nigeria; African University Cooperative Development, Cotonou, Republic of Benin, operating anywhere in Nigeria; Pacific Western University, Denver, Colorado, Owerri Study Center and Evangel University of America & Chudick Management Academic, Lagos.

The Ministry of Education said it was temporarily suspending the assessment and accreditation of degree certificates from the Republic of Benin and Togo.

This comes after an investigative report titled 'How Daily Nigerian Reporter Earned Cotonou University Degree in 6 Weeks' was published by the Daily Nigerian newspaper. The report exposed how some officials at the University of Benin produced fake university degrees for a fee.

Source: www.lindaikejisblog.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *