33A37F7 preview e1679132030222

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared as inconclusive the election for the Takai constituency seat in the Kano State House of Assembly.

Prof. Usman Ibrahim of Bayero University Kano (BUK), who was the Returning Officer, announced this in INEC’s office in Takai.

“Even though the candidate of APC, Musa Ali, scored 24,573 votes while NNPP’s candidate scored 23,569 votes, we still have no other option than to declare the poll inconclusive.

RELATED  Pastors Wale, Paul Adefarasin lose mother at 98

“This is because election in five polling units were cancelled due to over voting and election.

“Now, the election will be conducted again in the five polling units,” Ibrahim said.

Meanwhile, INEC has declared Mr Garba Gwarmai of the APC as winner of the Tsanyawa/Kuchi constituency seat in the Kano State House of Assembly.

RELATED  Tinubu commiserates with Fashola over uncle’s death

Prof. Ganiyu Shokobi of BUK, who was the Returning Officer for Tsanyawa/Kunchi Constituency, declared the result at INEC’s Collation Centre in Tsanyawa.

He said Gwarmai secured 31,471 votes to beat his closest opponent, Mr Mohammed Ali of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), who scored 27,864 votes.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Bello Abdullahi of the PDP scored 136 votes.

RELATED  Collaboration dominant theme as Africa Soft Power Summit gears up for Kigali

Similarly, INEC on Sunday declared the results of the Shanono/Bagwai constituency election.

Prof. Ahmed Iliyasu of BUK declared Ibrahim Kundila of APC as winner of the election, after polling 38,021 votes ahead of Musa Aliyu of NNPP who scored 29,983 votes.

Headline News – Latest update

Go to source

Powered by WPeMatico

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *