Gov Dapo Abiodun

The Ogun State Governor, Dapo Abiodun, on Sunday, was declared the winner of the state governorship election conducted on Saturday.

With his re-election, the governor has been handed another term of four years to pilot the affairs of the state.

His first four years were wrought with allegations of poor performance, with the opposition Peoples Democratic Party claiming the state witnessed no development under the current administration.

RELATED  JUST IN: Lawan in closed-door meeting with Buhari 

However, the governor rose above the criticism by winning his reelection bid. Abiodun, who contested under the banner of the All Progressives Congress defeated his closest challenger, Ladi Adebutu of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Abiodun polled 276,298 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Ladi Adebutu of the Peoples Democratic Party who scored 262,383 votes. He was declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission on Sunday.

Related News

The INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Kayode Adebowale, said 2,688,305 was the total registered voters while accredited voters were 666,406

Adebowale said a total of 645,133 votes were valid while 18,835 votes were rejected. He said a total of 663, 968 votes were cast .

The APC won 12 local government areas of the state while PDP won eight local government areas.

The APC won in Odeda, Egbado-North, Egbado-South, Ewekoro, Ijebu-North, Ijebu-Ode, Ipokia, Abeokuta-North. Ado-Odo/Ota, Ifo, Obafemi-Owode and Imeko-Afon local government areas of the state.

The PDP won in Abeokuta-South, Ogun Waterside, Ijebu-North/East, Ikenne, Ijebu-East, Remo-North, Odogbolu, and Sagamu.

Headline News – Latest update

Go to source

Powered by WPeMatico

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *