WhatsApp Image 2023 03 18 at 8.08.58 AM 1

*Meet the 11 governors seeking re-election

It’s another governorship and state assembly election in Nigeria, and this year 28 out of the 36 states of the federation will be electing governors, while the House of Assembly election will hold in the 36 states of the federation.

Ekiti, Osun, Bayelsa, Kogi, Ondo, Imo, Anambra and Edo are the states where governorship elections will not be held.

11 governors in 28 states are on the ballot for the election.

Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde is seeking reelection with 15 others including LP’s Akinwale Tayo as well as a serving senator, Teslim Folarin of the APC.

AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State is also seeking re-election on the APC platform. He is in the race with PDP’s Abdullahi Yaman, LP’s Abubakar Kabir and 11 others.

Adamawa State governor, Ahmadu Fintiri of the PDP is seeking reelection for another term. The governor is in the race alongside 14 other candidates including APC candidate, Senator Aishatu Dahiru famously known as Binani and Labour Party (LP)’s Mustapha Madawaki.

In Lagos State, where Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu is seeking re-election on the platform of the governing All Progressives Congress, there are fears that the Labour Party’s Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour will give the incumbent a run for his money given the way the LP defeated the APC in the presidential election. Also, Olajide Adediran of the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party is also a strong contender for the coveted seat. About 6.21 million voters with permanent voter cards are expected to determine the next governor of the state.

Borno State Governor, Babagana Zulum is also on the ballot to seek re-election. Zulum who is contesting on the platform APC is in the race alongside 11 others including PDP’s Mohammed Jajari and LP’s Goni Abdullahi.

Governor Mai Mala Buni of Yobe State is also seeking another term. He is in the race alongside 10 other candidates such as PDP’s Shariff Abdullahi and NNPP’s Umar Garba.

In Nasarawa, Governor Abdullahi Sule of the APC is in the race with 13 others.

In Bauchi State, Governor Bala Mohammed of the PDP is seeking reelection. The governor is in the race contest with 13 other candidates including Senator Halliru Jika of the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP) as well as APC’s candidate, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

Governor Muhammad Inuwa of Gombe State is seeking reelection on the platform of the APC. Inuwa will be slugging it out at the polls with 13 others including PDP’s Muhammed Barde and LP’s Amuga Esau.

Governor Bello Matawalle of Zamfara State is in the race with PDP’s Dauda Lawal, LP’s Ahmed Yahuza, and 11 others.

Governor Dapo Abiodun’s second-term bid is in the race with 12 others including PDP’s Ladi Adebutu who is no newcomer in the game as well as Biyi Otegbeye of the African Democratic Congress (ADC).

Headline News – Latest update

Go to source

Powered by WPeMatico

    RELATED  Agency formulates remedy for COVID-19 symptoms

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *