Seyi Makinde

Governor Seyi Makinde has been declared the winner of the Oyo State gubernatorial election held on Saturday, March 18.

Makinde, a candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), was re-elected with a total of 256,685 votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) state resident electoral commissioner, Tella Adeniran, announced on Sunday that Makinde won in 31 Local Government Areas (LGA) out of 33 LGAs.

RELATED  Nwobodo endorses PDP’s Mbah, urges youths to vote massively for him

Makinde defeated his two major opponents, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who polled 256,685 votes, and Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party (AP), who polled 38,757 votes.

INEC Returning Officer in the state, Prof. Adebayo Simeon, said, “That Makinde Oluseyi Abiodun of the PDP, having satisfied the requirement of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected by the Returning Officer, Prof. Adebayo Simeon, on this day, March 19, 2023.”

RELATED  Supreme Court suspends CBN deadline on old, new naira notes swap

Makinde has served as the governor of Oyo State since May 29, 2019.

Headline News – Latest update

Go to source

Powered by WPeMatico

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *