Wike and other governors

A former National Secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ibrahim Tsauri, has revealed the reason the party leadership will not sanction five of its governors.

In a chat with The Punch on Tuesday, Tsauri said the PDP cannot sanction the governors now because the party is truly interested in progress and not division.

RELATED  Fuel scarcity may hamper movement of materials, personnel – INEC

Recall that Governors Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Samuel Ortom (Benue), Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), and Seyi Makinde (Oyo) have been consistent in their call for the resignation of the PDP National Chairman, Iyorchia Ayu.

Wike and his allies specifically noted that since a Northerner, Atiku Abubakar, emerged as the party’s presidential candidate, it would be unfair for Ayu to remain as the PDP chairman.

In their determination to press home their demand, the five governors resigned their membership of the PDP Presidential Campaign Council and have since been seen sabotaging the party ahead of the 2023 elections.

Following these developments, there have been calls for the sanctioning of the governors to instill some elements of discipline among party members.

According to Tsauri, the opposition party would not sanction the aggrieved governors, but it would continue to explore the path of reconciliation ahead of the 2023 general elections.

The member of the PDP National Executive Committee (NEC), however, warned Wike and his allies to stop taking undue advantage of the powers they have.

He said: “The party cannot implement any sanction now because the PDP is a truly national party that is interested in progress, not divisions.”

HottestHeadline News (https://headline.com.ng/) – Latest and trending news in Nigeria & around the globe

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *